Board of Directors

Edwin Remsberg

Harford Land Trust is firmly rooted in the community.

Since our founding in 1991, the spirit of rolling up your sleeves and getting to work continues to be the common thread for volunteers that serve as directors.

Benjamin A. Lloyd


Elected 2008

A ninth-generation Harford Countian, Ben Lloyd grew up in Churchville where he worked on local farms from a young age. Currently he works as Director of Administration for Harford County Government, where he has been employed since 2007, having previously served as Chief of Citizens’ Affairs, Deputy Chief of Staff for Intergovernmental Relations, and Senior Budget Analyst among other roles. He is an Elder at Slate Ridge Presbyterian Church in Cardiff, and is a member of the Harford Farm Bureau and North Bay Rugby Club. He is a 1998 graduate of C. Milton Wright High School, and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Towson University (2002) and a Master of Public Policy degree from UMBC (2005). Ben lives in Norrisville near Deer Creek with his wife Calla, a public school teacher, and their young son Evan.

H. Turney McKnight

Vice President and President-designate for 2022

Elected 1991

Turney McKnight is a retired attorney and beef cattle farmer in White Hall. He is President of the Sumner T. McKnight Foundation. Turney holds a B.A. from Cornell University and a J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School.

Jo Tyson


Elected 2013

Jo Tyson taught in Harford County Public Schools for over 20 years. Prior to teaching she was a mortgage officer at Commercial and Savings Bank in Bel Air, and was a commissioner with the Maryland Home Improvement Commission. She and her husband Jeff reside on their 75 acre farm in Pylesville. She enjoys reading, golf, and spending time outdoors on the farm.

Michael Zeller


Elected 2014

Mike Zeller has an extensive background in agricultural services and business operations, with a Masters of Business Administration from Bloomsburg University and over 10 years of employment in the agricultural sector, most recently as General Manager at Risser Grain. He currently works for Kinsley Construction of York, Pennsylvania. Although currently residing in Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, he nonetheless has a lifetime of association with agriculture in Harford County.

Deborah Bowers

Elected 2020

Deb Bowers has been an advocate for land preservation for decades. Deb founded the Farmland Preservation Report, a nationally recognized periodical, and co-authored the book “Holding Our Ground: Protecting America’s Farms and Farmland” in 1997, which remains a leading resource for farmland preservation practitioners. She played an essential role in the creation of Harford County’s agricultural land preservation program and was also a founding member of the Save the Rocks campaign. Deb has years of experience as a land preservation manager with several land trusts in Baltimore County as well as the Agricultural Land Preservation Manager for Carroll County. In 2019, Harford Land Trust recognized her many contributions to conservation by awarding her with the organization’s Conservation Award.

Hon. William O. Carr (ret.)

Elected 2019

Bill Carr retired in 2017 after 33 years of service as a judge on the Circuit Court of Harford County; he is one of the longest serving such judges in Maryland. He is a native of Havre de Grace, and a graduate of Havre de Grace High School, Towson University, Johns Hopkins University, and the University of Maryland School of Law. He served for many years as the Court’s Administrative Judge, and he continues to hear cases on a fill-in basis. Bill and his family reside in Bel Air. He is a former member of the Bel Air Board of Town Commissioners and in that capacity also served as town mayor. He co-founded the Harford County Bar Foundation in 1992 and currently serves on the organization’s Board of Directors. A celebrated local historian, Bill also serves on the Board of the Harford County Historical Society.

Lee Depkin Harford Land Trust

Lee Depkin

Elected 2017

Lee Depkin’s involvement with Harford Land Trust started in 2014 as our volunteer bookkeeper, a position he filled until 2016. He was integral to the early successes of our Harvest Moon Dinner & Auction event and as been a loyal volunteer for many years. Lee, his wife Nina, and their two young daughters reside in Forest Hill. Lee works as a Market Analyst for Guttman Energy and brings extensive financial management experience to the Board.

Diane V. Jones

Elected 2013

Diane Jones recently retired as a programmer/analyst with the Social Security Administration. She lives on her family farm near Darlington and has enjoyed the preserved land of Harford County her entire life. She is an avid equestrian, birdwatcher, and traveler.

Scott Kearby

Elected 2020

A resident of Harford County since 1982, Scott Kearby is a graduate of The U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Scott joined the US Army as a civil engineer before joining the Air National Guard as a base civil engineer at Martin State Airport. Scott went on to join the Harford County Department of Public Works where he managed numerous road and bridge building projects as well as watershed protection and restoration initiatives. Scott lives in Churchville and enjoys hiking, kayaking and being on the water at Eden Mill or along the Ma and Pa Trail.

Dan Krug Harford Land Trust

Daniel Krug

Elected 2016

Dan Krug has been an active Harford Land Trust member since 2009, serving as a Land Steward with primary oversight of the organization’s Otter Creek and Monk’s Creek properties. Dan and his extended family, have been loyal volunteers in many capacities over the years. Dan lives in Edgewood. He is also an avid hunter and fisherman and a member of Ducks Unlimited. Dan has been committed to the Papa John’s franchise since he was 14 where he is now the managing partner of a store in Delaware.

Sam Martin Harford Land Trust

Samuel Martin

Elected 2017

Sam Martin is a lifelong resident of Harford County.  He is a full time farmer and co-owner of Blue Valley Farms headquartered in Pylesville.  A dairy farm for years, Blue Valley now grows corn and soybeans on several thousand acres and is also a Pioneer Seed Dealer.  Many of the lands that they own and rent are preserved farms.

Nancy Ann Sayre

Elected 2021

Nancy Ann grew up on her family’s Waffle Hill Farm near Churchville, raising Angus cattle and riding ponies across neighboring farms in the Deer Creek Valley. Nancy Ann’s work in the Angus cattle and beef industries took across the country and around the world, then back to Harford County. While raising a family here, Nancy Ann worked part-time in consulting and graphic design and helped Deer Creek Beef market locally raised beef. Now happily retired, Nancy Ann has more time to ride, travel and help manage Waffle Hill Properties. “Preserving the county’s agricultural heritage and natural resources is important to me, and I look forward to being more involved in HLT’s efforts.”

Jeanne Sisk

Elected 2019

Jeanne grew up in Bel Air and attended C. Milton Wright H.S. She is a graduate of Goucher College and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and earned a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Jeanne spent the past 10 years researching viruses, including those that caused the outbreaks of SARS and MERS. She currently works as a biologist at the FDA in the Center for Veterinary Medicine. Jeanne lives on Windmill Hill Farm in Havre de Grace with Sarah Jay where she is enjoying learning the fundamentals of horse care and trail riding.

Photo by Judy Dettner

Our Work Depends on You

Harford Land Trust can save more land in Harford County, Maryland, because of generous people like you.

Scroll to Top