Harvest Moon Event Raises $50,000 for Land Preservation in Harford County

20181020 HLT 0087 cropped

The Harford Land Trust raised a record $50,000 at its seventh annual Harvest Moon Dinner & Auction on Saturday, October 20.  An enthusiastic crowd of 200 people attended the event at the Bel Air Armory in support of our mission of preserving land in Harford County.

Keynote speaker Major General Randy S. Taylor, Senior Commander of Aberdeen Proving Ground (APG), spoke of the important partnership with Harford Land Trust through the Army Compatible Use Buffer Program. General Taylor described the benefits of preserving critical habitat and limiting incompatible development near APG.

20181020 HLT 0095 cropped

Highlighting the evening was the announcement by Executive Director Kristin Kirkwood of our recent acquisition of a long-sought property known as Perryman Woods, funded primarily through the Army’s program, as well as through Harford County Government stormwater mitigation funds, and community contributions.  

Mary Archer Stewart of Fawn View Farm in Pylesville also spoke at the event. Stewart stressed the importance of land preservation to the county’s agricultural industry and to future generations of county residents, whether they are involved in farming or not.

Major sponsors and contributors included the Office of Harford County Executive Barry Glassman, Klein's ShopRite, Ann and Art Helton of Millbrook Farm, Eileen and Harry Webster of Lassen, Marine & Webster, Inc., and Jesse Colvin for Congress. The event was made possible by the donated goods and services of over 100 local businesses and residents. Aimee O’Neill of O’Neill Enterprises donated her auctioneering services, and Jeff Conti donated his professional decorating services. 

20181020 HLT 0136 altered

“The outpouring of support for our event shows that our community recognizes the importance of our work and understands the many benefits of land preservation,” Harford Land Trust Board President Ben Lloyd said. “Thank you to our event committee chair and board member Jo Tyson, as well as Marilyn Thompson, Cyndi Fitzhugh, Diane Jones, Jeff Conti, Lee Crush, Patti Dallam, Gloria Moon, and Peg Niland for their work behind the scenes to make this a success.”