About us Board of directors

Board of directors

Ben LloydBenjamin A. Lloyd, President

Elected March 2008

A ninth-generation Harford Countian, Ben Lloyd grew up in Churchville and now resides in Norrisville near Deer Creek.  Currently, he works as Senior Budget Analyst for Harford County Government.   He is a member of the Harford Farm Bureau, the Harford Historical Society, North Bay Rugby Club, and Slate Ridge Presbyterian Church.  He is also a former member of the Harford County Environmental Advisory Board and former chair of the Harford County People's Counsel Citizens Advisory Board.  Ben is a graduate of C. Milton Wright High School (1998), and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Towson University (2002), and a Master of Public Policy degree from UMBC (2005).  

Rick PostRichard M. Post, Vice President

Richard M. Post is a native Pennsylvanian who has lived in Harford County for the past forty-four years.  He graduated from Bloomsburg University in 1967 with a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in political science.  He received his Masters degree in Communications from Towson University in 1978.  While employed by the Harford County Board of Education for forty years, Rick taught a variety of social studies courses and sponsored many clubs.  He has written several articles for the National Association of Student Councils  Leadership Magazine and has also contributed his talents to several political candidates for local and state offices.

As the adult coordinator for the North Harford Ecology Club, a Parks and Recreation program in the 1990's, Rick, with his daughter Elizabeth and club members became a partner with the Harford Land Trust to buy and protect Kilgore Falls in the northern part of the county. Daughters Katy and Elizabeth are teachers in North Carolina.  Rick and his wife Ellen live in Pylesville, Maryland and have operated an antique business for the past fifteen years. 

Linn GriffithsLinn Griffiths, Secretary

Elected March 2009

Linn Griffiths is a is a Science Model Department Chair for Harford County Public Schools who received Maryland's Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching for 2007. 

Ms. Griffiths, before becoming a Science Model Department Chair, spent 9 of her 24 years in teaching at Fallston Middle School, 2 at North Harford High School, one at central office, and 12 years at C. Milton Wright High School, where she is the recycling coordinator and Envirothon coach. She is an adjunct instructor for Plymouth State University in New Hampshire for environmental graduate studies. Linn was named Secondary Conservation Teacher of the Year for the Northeast Region by the National Association of Conservation Districts, and is a Maryland Service Learning Fellow and HCPS Green Teacher of the Year.

Besides her extensive environmental knowledge, Linn brings extraordinary enthusiasm to HLT’s efforts to reach out to the public and connect people to the land.   Linn resides in Darlington with her husband, Peter, also a teacher at C. Milton Wright High. 

Michael Zeller, Treasurer 

mike zellerElected 2014

Mike Zeller has an extensive background in agricultural services and business operations, with a Masters of Business Administration from Bloomsburg University and over 10 years of employment in the agricultural sector, most recently as General Manager at Risser Grain. He currently works for Kinsley Construction of York, PA.  Although currently residing in New Freedom, he nonetheless has a lifetime of association with agriculture in Harford County and brings valuable insight to the Board.

Diane V. Jones

Elected 2013

Diane Jones is a programmer/analyst with the Social Security Administration. She lives on her family farm near Darlington and has enjoyed the preserved land of Harford County her entire life. She is an avid equestrian and birdwatcher and a valuable addition to our board of directors.

Dan Krug

Elected 2016


H. Turney McKnight

Elected 1991

Farmer, attorney, outdoor writer, President, S. T. McKnight Foundation; Agricultural District on 450-acre farm; Board of Directors of Chesapeake Bay Foundation since 1984.

James G. Morris

Elected 2012

Jim was born in and has lived his entire life in Harford County. He grew up on the family’s dairy farm until his father’s untimely death when he was 8 years old. He graduated from North Harford High School in 1969. He obtained an AA degree at Harford Community and a BS in accounting from the University of Baltimore. He is a CPA (State of Maryland) and has worked in public accounting and private industry for 15 years. Jim has had his own accounting practice since 1994 where he performs tax, accounting, audit and review, and business advisory services.

Jim and his wife Sarah and have been married for 36 years and have 2 daughters and 1 granddaughter. They live on a 32 acre farm where they have a small flock of dorset sheep ( a 4H project gone out of control). He’s a long-time member of Emory United Methodist Church and an active supporter of FCCAU, the organization which cares for the homeless in the county.

Jo Tyson

Elected 2013

Jo Tyson taught in Harford County Public Schools for over 20 years, and now she brings her passion for protecting the land and natural resources of Harford County to the HLT.

Past Presidents and Directors since 1991: the late Sidney D. Kreider, MD; the late Johnston N. Hegeman; Peter A. Jay; the late Lehman W. Spry, DDS; Dorothy S. Bishop, CPA; Richard S. Bishop, CPA; Judge Brodnax Cameron, Jr.; Peter R. Hegeman; Mary-Dulany James, Esq.; Mildred S. Kreider, RN, PhD.; Albert H. Owens, Jr., MD; Garrett J. Pensell; Joseph P. Pons; Jan P. Stinchcomb, Gregory A. Szoka, Esq.; Leonard D. Wheeler; Charles W. Wienckowski, CPA; Ann C. Helton; Paul Hunter; Edward A. Grassi; David P. Miller; Harry V. Webster; Dennis L. Kirkwood, D. Ed.; Leslie R. Eastman; Glenn R. Dudderar.